NITI( National Institute for Transforming India)Aayog,Government’s think tank,this Thursday, has announced lottery, on daily, weekly and monthly basis to merchants and consumers to promote digital payments.

The introduction of two new schemes was introduced by the NITI Aayog’s CEO Amitabh Kant. The schemes are the Lucky Grahak Yojana for consumers, and the Digi-Dhan Vyapar Yojana for merchants at an estimated cost of Rs 340 crore.

Kant said that the first draw will take place on Christmas day this year,  and the mega draw on 14 April next year. It will cover a range of transactions between 50 to 3000 rupees. The scheme will be implemented by National Payment Corporation of India.

15,000 winners will receive cash back prizes of Rs 1,000 every day  starting on December 25 until April 13 next year. This award will be given under the Lucky Grahak Yojana.

There will be 7,000 weekly prizes for consumers. Maximum prize of Rs 1 lakh each will be awarded . Other awards will be of Rs 10,000 and Rs 5,000.

Under Digi-Dhan Vyapar Yojana, there will be 7,000 weekly awards with a maximum prize of Rs 50,000. Other awards will be of Rs 5,000 and Rs 2,500

Mega awards for both customers and merchants will be announced on April 14.

For consumers, the first prize in Mega awards is  Rs 1 crore, second prize is Rs 50 lakh, and third prize is 25 lakh.

For merchants, the prizes in Mega awards are Rs 50 lakh, Rs 25 lakh, and Rs 5 lakh, respectively.

The scheme will not include any business to business sale. Credit card and e-wallet payment will not be included. Transactions using RuPay, USSD, UPI and Aadhaar Enabled Payment System (AEPS) are covered under this scheme.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi calls it a Christmas gift to remember.He tweeted, “These two schemes will further incentivise digital payments.”


These schemes are introduced  few days after the finance ministry declared incentives and discounts on fuel, highway toll and railway tickets and insurance cover paid by digital transactions.